Happy Birthday, Harry Potter! (A couple days late)

I think Harry would appreciate the irony of this post not appearing until after his birthday, considering all the years he went without so much as a simple acknowledgement of the day.  (Sorry, Harry!)

The first book was published in 1997, the year Harry turned 17—so technically the first book came out around the time the events of the seventh book started.  I’ve actually read a fanfiction story where Hermione (with Harry’s permission) sold his story to a Muggle publishing house, passing it off as fiction, in an effort to finance their Horcrux hunt (because supposedly Harry wasn’t as rich as everyone seemed to think), but because she wasn’t going to have the time to write them herself she gave all of her (naturally) detailed notes to “a certain author” and contracted her to do the actual writing.  According to Hermione, who’s telling this story to her daughter, this author stuck closely to Hermione’s notes for the first four books, then decided she didn’t like the actual pairings so decided to change things in the last three so that Harry ended up with Ginny and Hermione with Ron.  This caused a huge argument between Hermione and the author, and they haven’t spoken to each other since.  The story is called Notebooks and Letters by chem prof if you want to check it out, and it can be found at FanFicAuthors.net, as well as fanfiction.net.

According to the books, Harry was born on 31 July 1980, making him 37 years old on 31 July 2017.  For those of you paying attention, that means on September 1st this year Harry and Ginny will be going to Kings Cross and putting their son Al on the Hogwarts Express for the first time.  (Sorry, Lily, you have to wait till next year.)

As much as I love books, too often the way I learn of a new series (new to me, anyway) is when someone makes a movie based on it, and such was the case here.  I’d never even heard of Harry Potter until the first movie came out, and I was talked into going to watch it.  Even then, I didn’t start reading the series till after the third movie came out, naively believing that the movies couldn’t be that different from the books.  After being persuaded that a lot of the books’ important details had been left out of the movies (because of time constraints or whatever) I finally started reading the books.  I’ve been hooked ever since.

I complained just as loudly as the rest of the fans at the delays between the books and movies.  Then I started complaining about what they were leaving out of the movies.  I’m still complaining about what they did to the last three movies (burning down the Burrow?  Really?!?  And what was the point of splitting the last book into two movies if they were still going to leave out some essential scenes?!?) and it’s been how many years since the last one was made?  Let’s just say even my friends are tired of listening to that little tirade at this point.

I’ve read the entire series ten times , and watched all the movies dozens of times , at least.  (Explains how I’m able to still complain about the stuff left out of the movies after all this time.)  I’ve read dozens of fanfiction stories and am working on several of my own.  And of course, there are all my writing prompt responses that I post daily (99% of which are Harry Potter related).  I’ve got an account at Pottermore, and I know my Hogwarts House (Ravenclaw), my Ilvermorny House (Pukwudgie) and my Patronus (Husky).  I even know my wand (alder wood with a unicorn hair core, 10¾”, hard flexibility).  Now if only it would tell me what position I’d play on the House quidditch team…

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

