Questioning My Sanity (Response to a writing prompt found on Pinterest)

I never believed they existed, but this one is staring right at me.  Of all the times for Luna Lovegood to be proven right, it would be over a normally-impossible-to-prove-it-exists magical creature.  Even if some of the other creatures could possibly exist, I never honestly thought this one was on the list of actual creatures.  I vowed that from now on, I would believe every word Luna said about her magical creatures, no matter how off-the-wall their descriptions sounded.

“Um, Harry…”

“Yeah, Hermione?”  Harry sounded distracted, so I glanced over to see what he was doing.  He kept glancing back and forth between a parchment in his hand, which appeared to have drawings of different plants, and the vast array of vegetation in the Lovegoods’ garden.

“I think I owe Luna a big apology…no, scratch that, I know I owe her a big apology.  Turns out she was right all along about her magical creatures.”

“What makes you say that?”

“Because I’m looking right at one at the moment,” I replied, turning back to make sure the creature was still there.  Yep, still there, so no chance I was just seeing things.  Harry turned towards me.

“What are you looking at?” he asked, then followed her gaze.  “What in Merlin’s name is that?”

That, Harry, is one of Luna’s impossible creatures, that I didn’t think could possibly exist, but it turns out I was wrong.  Harry, this lovely creature happens to be a Crumple-Horned Snorkack.”

Harry made an odd strangling noise in his throat, staring at the creature in front of them.  The next thing I knew, Harry Potter had fallen over in a dead faint.

“Harry?  Are you okay?… Harry?”

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

