Time-Traveling Voice Recorders (Response to a writing prompt found on Pinterest)

Splashed across every headline yesterday were the words: Experiment A Success!  First Object Sent Back In Time Reaches Destination!  “Great, now every Tom, Dick and Harry are going to be sending themselves really stupid items just because they can,” I muttered, flipping from the front page to the comics.  After that headline, I could use a good laugh.

 

Today,  I discovered just how right I was.  I opened my front door to see a medium-sized box sitting on my porch.  Curious, I picked it up and read the label.  The handwriting was eerily familiar: it was mine.  “You have got to be kidding me!” I exclaimed, then backed into the house with the package held out at arm’s length, not sure whether it was going to explode or not.

Walking into the kitchen, I used an old pair of scissors from the catch-all drawer to open the box.  Inside was a cloth-wrapped object.  I unwrapped it and found myself staring at a digital voice recorder.

“Why the hell would I send myself this?  These haven’t been used in years!”  Curious, I hit play and heard my own voice coming out of the speaker.  “Listen very carefully, there isn’t much time…”

“Oh great!  I’m not sure if I’m stuck in The Matrix, The Terminator, or Alice in Wonderland….probably Alice in Wonderland, knowing my luck,” I muttered.

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time-Traveling Voice Recorders (Response to a writing prompt found on Pinterest)

  1. calensariel says:

    Got a HUGE giggle out of this!!! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

