George on the Run (Response to a writing prompt found on Pinterest)

Harry and Hermione were relaxing in their living room one afternoon when George suddenly burst through their front door, shutting it firmly behind him.  They looked up, startled, and noticed his disheveled appearance.  Concerned, Hermione started to speak, but George cut her off.

“Whatever happens in the next few minutes, whoever comes knocking, I’ve been here for at least an hour,” he said breathlessly.

“What did you do know, George?” Hermione asked.

“Nothing!  I did absolutely nothing!  And I couldn’t have done anything anyway, because I’ve been here visiting with you lot,” George protested.

Hermione exchanged a look with Harry.  “I don’t even want to know,” Harry said.  Looking at George, he said, “Whatever you need, mate, you’ve got it.  Head on into the kitchen, you look like you could use a cup of tea.  I was just going to make some for us anyway.”

“Thanks, mate, you’re the best!” George exclaimed, then raced out of the room.  Harry shook his head, muttered something about “Weasleys” under his breath, and headed toward the kitchen himself.

Just as the kettle whistled and Harry took it off the burner, there was a knock at the front door.

“Oh, Merlin!” George groaned, trying to slide under the kitchen table.  “I am so dead!  Save me a spot, Fred, I’ll be with you soon!”

“Oh for Merlin’s sake, quit being so melodramatic,” Harry said, rolling his eyes.  He placed the teapot on the table and walked back into the living room, just as Hermione opened the door to see Arthur and Molly Weasley on their doorstep.  They both sported lime green hair.  Hermione struggled to keep a straight face.

“Okay, Hermione, where is he?  Where is that no-good son of ours?” Molly demanded.  Hermione looked at the older woman, confusion on her face.

“Why, he’s in the kitchen with Harry, Molly, helping him make tea.  Come on in, it should be ready any minute, and then we can all have a nice cup.”

“Hello, Molly, Arthur,” Harry said cheerfully, walking up to the group and slipping his arms around Hermione’s waist.  “The tea should be ready in just another couple minutes, love,” he said, turning to her.

“Lovely, we can have a nice chat in the meantime,” Hermione answered, smiling at Harry in relief, grateful that Molly and Arthur were pants at Legilimency.

“Oi! Harry!  Where do you keep your sugar again, mate?  It seems to have moved from last time I was here!” George called from the kitchen.

“I’d better go help him before he accidentally enchants the sugar bowl again and it walks off,” Harry said, kissing Hermione on the cheek before releasing her.  “Excuse me, folks, I’ll be right back.”

Harry rushed back toward the kitchen, calling, “Don’t touch anything on the counter, George!  I forgot I’d moved things around the other day, I’ll show you where it is now.”

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

