Monthly Recap and Reflections (May 2017)

I can’t believe the year is almost half over already!  It seems like only a few days ago I was reading about the A to Z Blogging Challenge coming up in April and writing my posts for it ahead of time, and now here it is the end of May already!  I always used to think the phrase “Time Flies” was funny, but the last few years I really get it, they just seem to have flown by, even if at the time some months seemed to drag on forever.  I’m going to be 46 this year, and I can’t believe I made it this far.  There were several times over the years I wondered if I was going to make it to the next year, let alone this far (mostly due to health issues), especially in the wintertime, when my asthma really kicks in.

Today would have been my mother-in-law’s 76th birthday.  She died in December 2008 of ovarian cancer, and I still miss her every day.  She wasn’t always the easiest person to get along with, and we definitely didn’t always see eye to eye, but she always considered me part of her family, the daughter she never got to have, and would get extremely upset with the boys (her sons) if they showed up to a family get-together without me, especially at the holidays.  She would make them go back for me, or call the house and ask why I wasn’t there, and make it clear that she didn’t care what anyone else thought, she wanted me there.  Even when I felt like no one else in her family wanted me around (probably still true, but I no longer care 😛 ), she always made it clear that she did, and that she didn’t care what they thought.  And no matter what anyone else says, she was the one in charge of the family, so no one argued with her if they knew what was good for them. 😛

My furry grandbabies are being a royal pain again, driving Grandma nuts with their caterwauling (yep, it’s “that time of the month” again for them—at least this month it all seems to be happening at the same time, so no matter how annoying it is, it will also be over at the same time, instead of staggered throughout the month like it usually is).  They don’t seem to understand that no one wants to hear them, especially not 24/7.  It really doesn’t help that they sit in the stairwell and do it, because that just makes them even louder and more annoying.  And then there’s the rubbing up against everything, bad enough when it’s an object already on the floor, but worse when it’s my computer desk or laptop, because then there’s the risk of knocking my laptop onto the floor, and I will not be a happy camper if that happens, so I keep trying to push them away from the computer desk and laptop when they start in, and also when they start rolling around on the bed next to me, because then they kick out at me with all four legs and not only is that annoying, they also wind up kicking the computer desk (it’s just a flimsy table with really skinny legs, so apparently whoever designed it as a computer desk never expected whoever bought it to have cats) and making it shake, also not a good idea.  If there weren’t so many of them, I’d have had them fixed by now, but there are six year-old kittens (okay, technically they’re not kittens anymore) and their mom who still need fixed, and I don’t have the money to get one of them fixed, let alone all seven!  This is going to be another long year…

On the bright side, the writing prompt response I have scheduled for tomorrow could very easily turn into its own story at this rate (yes, it’s another Harry Potter one, so obviously it would have to be filed under fan fiction), so now I have two active fan fiction stories to work on (to be added to the ever-growing pile of others I have temporarily on the back burner, most of them fan fiction, but a couple of them original stories)…yay me! 😛

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

