Zabini to the Rescue (Response to a writing prompt found on Pinterest)

“Yes, but last week a dragon almost set my hair on fire, so it’s your turn to negotiate.”

“You’d think you’d have learned after dealing with the Hungarian Horntail in our fourth year to not mess with dragons, Potter.  Besides, they’re not dragons.”

“No, they’re government officials, they’re way worse than dragons.”

“Yes, but you’re the Head Auror, so it’s your job to deal with them.”

“Yes, but you’re my partner, Draco, so you get to deal with them too.”

“Oh no, I’m not dealing with them!  They all still hate me, remember?  I only got this job because you vouched for me, if I go in there alone they’ll eat me a        “Oh stop being so melodramatic, they’re not that bad!”

“Then why don’t you want to go in there?”

“Because I’m not an idiot, that’s why.”

“Could’ve fooled me,” Draco grumbled.

“Oh for Merlin’s sake!  If you two children are going to just stand around bickering all day, I’ll go in there!” Blaise Zabini spoke up from his desk across the room.  Draco and Harry turned to stare at him.  They hadn’t even realised he was there.  “Honestly!  Listening to you two is like listening to a bunch of first years squabble over the last sweet at Halloween!”  Zabini strode across the room, flung open the door to the conference room, and shut it firmly behind

“Well, that went better than I thought it would,” Harry mused.

Yeah, I never thought I’d see the day when Blaise would willingly deal with a room full of bureaucrats,” Draco agreed.

In the hallway, unseen by their friends, Ron and Hermione peered around the doorframe, trying to hide their laughter.  “You owe me two galleons, Ronald.  I told you he’d get sick of listening to them and go in there himself.”

Ron slipped the gold into her hand while trying not to fall over from laughing so hard.  “It was worth every knut,” he chortled.

This entry was posted in My Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

