#BloggingAtoZApril2017Challenge: My Reflections Part 2

Blogging from A to Z April 2017 Challenge: My Reflections Part 2

 

Okay, so apparently doing an official Reflections post at the end of the Challenge is a thing?  Works for me!  I’ve already given some of my thoughts on the subject (rambled like a lunatic, as usual) but here goes with Part 2:st

Having never done this challenge before, I was learning as I went how it all worked.  I read a lot of posts ahead of time from people complaining about having to post their links every day instead of having a list, and while I could see their point, it wasn’t a problem for me.  My problem was learning how to do the clickable link, it seemed awfully complicated and I was convinced I’d never get the hang of it (now I love it).  I’ve even used it in my posts elsewhere, when pointing out an interesting article that I thought people might want to check out.

My only problem was, and this is probably just me not knowing what in the world I was doing, even though I saved the badges every day and added them to my posts, once I went to the entry (so I could get the link to post) I couldn’t see the letter badge myself.  I don’t know what was going on with that, but the only badge I ever saw was the original Participant badge that I put in the sidebar.  Hopefully others could see the badges every day, but I sure couldn’t.  I’ve even done the same thing with the Survivor badge in my other Reflections post, but naturally I can’t see it myself, so I’m going to just have to put it in the sidebar as well I guess.

The blogs I visited (or tried to visit) every day were Iain Kelly’s serial story using a children’s alphabet block quilt (loved it! Missed a couple days along the way, but even without going back to catch up I could follow along with the story just fine, and his entry for X was so sad); Megan Morgan’s daily attempts to talk people out of becoming writers (sorry, Megan, I caught the bug when I was twelve and haven’t looked back since); My Cozy Book Nook (the one about Journaling), Reading Authors (reviews of different books/series, some I’d heard of and some I hadn’t), Writing Off the Edge (a drabble a day), Giggling Fattie (Harry Potter theme—loved it!), Sue Bursztynski’s Spies an Spying posts, and probably a few more that I’m forgetting.

I liked someone’s suggestion about putting up all the badges for the month at once, so we could get them all in one shot, and have them already added to our daily entries so all we’d have to do is go to the Challenge site once a day to post our links, instead of having to go there, get the badge, add it to our post for the day, go back to the site, add our link…I have absolutely no idea what kind of work goes into making those badges so I don’t know how feasible it would actually be to have them all done ahead of time, but even like a week’s worth or so at a time would be very helpful.  Other than that (and trying several times to get the hang of clickable links before I finally figured it out!) I had no problems with the way things were done this year, and look forward to coming back next year to participate again!

I took the survey already.  I actually had no idea how many comments I had on my blog until asked in the survey, so I had to go count.  Over 50 comments and 11 new followers, so yay me!

This entry was posted in My Ramblings, Writing Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to #BloggingAtoZApril2017Challenge: My Reflections Part 2

  1. calensariel says:

    Hey girlfriend! It’s so weird that you were having trouble with the badges in the body of your posts. That’s where you wanted them, right? The easiest way to save them (or any picture) to your blog is to first save them where you have pictures stored on your computer. (At least this is the easiest for me…)

    1. Right click on the image you want and click on “save image as” in the box that comes up. It should put it in your photo folder or you can save it to a separate folder if you set up a special one for posting stuff.
    2. When you’re ready to put it in your post, put your cursor where you’d like it to be and click the “add media” button. That brings up the “Insert Media” screen.
    3.Click “Upload files” > then “select files” and your photo folder with the saved pictures should come up. Click on the picture you want, then click “open.” That should put it in your “Media Library.” From there you can tell it where you want it (right, left, center, etc.).
    4. Then down in the right-hand corner click “Insert Into Post.”

    Now there may be an easier shortcut way to do that, but I am TOTALLY computer illiterate and this has proven to be the only sure-fire method for me. And once you have it in your post, you will always have access to it. You just have to click on “Insert Media” and it should be stored in your library. Scroll through until you find it. You can also go back and delete it from your photo folder on your computer and it won’t delete it from your post because you’ve saved the entire file within your blog.

    Added advantage — If you want to use an image in your side bar in a widget, save it to your media library and when you click on it, there will be a URL address under it in the place where you tell it to center, or right or left. Copy THAT URL and use it for your widget. I found out the hard way that if you have your images saved to a separate site on line (I had been saving mine to Photobucket) and that site goes down, your images will disappear out of your side bar until their site is back up again. If you get your own URL out of the media library that won’t ever happen.

    Did I confuse you even more?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, now I’m totally confused. 😛 I know I did something like that once to put the “I’m not addicted to reading” picture in a post, but couldn’t remember how I did it. Now there’s a “featured image” option on the side when I go to create a new post, and I’ve been using it (which may be my problem). When I click on it, a window opens up with all the images currently saved on my site, with an “add new” button. I click on it and get to add the image I want from my desktop, then click on “set featured image” or whatever it says at the bottom, and on my screen the image show up, but as soon as I click on Publish and then go the that post, the picture isn’t there, so I don’t know where it goes. 😛

      I’ve never used Photobucket, I just always save pictures to my desktop and then upload them from there to my posts or wherever.

      I don’t see a URL on my screen, just the name of the image (like my survivor badge just says “a-to-z-2017-challenge-survivor.jpg”) and that’s after I added it to my blog site, so I don’t know what to do there. I was wanting to change the image I already had in my sidebar from the A badge to the Participant badge, then add the Survivor badge, but can’t figure out how to do it. I used to be computer literate, I swear! (Back in the 80s, before you needed a freaking degree to be able to do all this stuff 😛 )

      Liked by 1 person

      • calensariel says:

        I see now what you’re talking about. That “featured image” thing is for adding a picture at the top of your page for JUST THAT POST. And if people are just scrolling through your blog posts, they won’t even see that picture UNLESS they click on the title to that ACTUAL post. Then that image will show up at the top instead of your regular pix up there. It’s actually kind of a worthless control.

        So you’ve saved the image you want to the desktop. Now do your post then go into ADD MEDIA and click on UPLOAD FILES. Then click on SELECT FILES which should let you get to where your picture is on your computer. Select it and open it into your blog. It will show up in your MEDIA LIBRARY right where you are.

        Then look over at the controls in the right side of the screen and you’ll see the pix and right underneath it it will say URL. THAT’S the code you want to use in your widget. The way it was explained to me I did a dummy post and posted the pictures on it that I want a URL for. Then I save it as a draft. I never do actually publish it. So I’ve titled that post as STORAGE and I just keep saving it as a draft and adding pictures when I need a URL for something I’m not posting to an actual post. Something I want for a widget for my side bar, for example. But that way I have the picture saved in my own library and can get the URL for any picture I have on there.

        I’m going to do a screen shot and see if it will let me post it here. If not I’ll put it on my blog so you can see where that URL is. Here goes nothin’!

        If it worked you can see the URL right under the picture. If it didn’t work, it make have left a link for you to click on. We’ll see.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I finally got a URL to show up for the picture, but now I’m having trouble with the sizing, as it keeps cutting the picture in half lengthwise (at least for the Survivor badge it does, the other one still looks fine, but is still the A badge, and I wanted to change it to the generic Participant badge, without a letter on it).

        Like

      • calensariel says:

        There! I got it. That URL right under the badge is what you would use to put your badge or any picture in your side bar. Oh, and I meant to tell you, next time you can go to the page at the challenge site that says Banners/Badges. All the letters should be there when we start because some people schedule their blogs way ahead of time and use them. Ok. Are you even more confused now? 😦

        Liked by 2 people

      • Yeah I saw the Banners/Badges page (today, lot of good that does now since the challenge is done 😛 ). I usually have to figure out how to do the widget thing each time I want to do it because I can’t remember how to do it in between times. 😛

        Like

    • Okay apparently I need to figure out the size of the image, because my computer is telling me the Survivor badge is 450 X 750 pixels, but when I save it like that half the badge is cut off, you can’t read the whole thing. But the image saved on my computer I can read just fine. So what size do I need to adjust it to so it will all show up?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellen says:

    It’s wonerdful to have you on our side, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reggie says:

    Arvaapa miÃTe!Ãämmk¶s¤t jutut, joista oikein huokuu onni ja ilo.Ja sitten onnelliseksi tekee kaksi isompaa murusta ja yksi pieni, joka mahan läpi sua kai nyt moikkailee 😀

    Like

  4. Jeanette says:

    I’m greauftl you made the post. It’s cleared the air for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

