#AtoZChallenge Day 12: L

L

 

“L is for Leo, who swallowed some tacks.”  I will never understand why children are so interested in putting everything they can get their hands on into their mouths.  It’s almost as if they think the only way for them to discover what something is, is by tasting it.  Their other four senses (assuming they all work properly) don’t even enter into the equation; only taste counts.

I don’t remember having such a fascination with my environment.  Then again, I learned to read at a young age, so if I wanted to learn about something and the adults around me didn’t (couldn’t, wouldn’t) answer my questions to my satisfaction, I simply looked up the answer for myself, usually at the local library.  Keep in mind this was years before personal computers, the internet, and instant answers to your questions with the touch of a button or click of a mouse.  The card catalog was still alive and well, and I was an expert at its use.  The advantage of the internet is, of course, that now I don’t have to leae the comfort of my own home to find the answers I’m looking for, all I have to do is open a new window on my laptop and start typing in the search engine, and within minutes I have all the information I could possibly need on a subject, with a list of further resources should I need them.

Granted, I’ve done some pretty stupid things in my time, especially in the pursuit of knowledge, but nothing that even comes close to this stupid.

This entry was posted in My Ramblings, Writing Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #AtoZChallenge Day 12: L

  1. doreeweller says:

    I remember research before the internet! It was slower, but at least I didn’t have to worry about constant distractions. I love having all the info available right at my fingertips. And no, I never tried to swallow tacks either.
    Doree Weller

    Like

  2. saracsnider says:

    My sister swallowed a nail once. She was hanging up a picture and had a nail in her mouth while fiddling with the hammer… or something. I don’t remember the details. I just remember laughing before our mother packed us all up in the car and drove to the hospital. 😉 (She was fine, it passed through with no problems).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Parents worry over nothing. 😛 A kid could be bleeding all over the floor and they’d go, “Oh you’re fine, put a band-aid on it” but if you accidentally swallow something, “OMG, get in the car NOW, we’re going to the ER!” 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

